Smart Water Magazine
Connecting Waterpeople

You are here

EurEau elects Dr Claudia Castell-Exner as President

  • EurEau elects Dr Claudia Castell-Exner as President

About the entity

EurEau is the European federation of national water services. We represent national drinking and waste water service providers from 29 countries, from both the private and the public sectors.


Europe’s water services elected Dr Claudia Castell-Exner as EurEau President for the next two years.

Claudia comes from the German association DVGW, where she leads the water management, quality and usage team. She is also the Director of European Water Policy.

“Water is valuable – and essential – for our society. Our sector is experienced in providing fundamental services but we face challenges we must address if we are to keep bringing efficient, sustainable and affordable water services to our customers,” said Claudia.

“I want to highlight the vital role that water plays in our society. EU policy makers must do more to protect our water resources and promote water services. Water needs to be prioritised on the political agenda, as it is all too often sidelined, especially regarding economic interests from industry and agriculture. I am determined to expand EurEau’s status as a political heavyweight as we tackle global issues such as climate change by encouraging investment and innovation in the sector” she continued.

Claudia has over 25 years’ experience of working in the water sector at both the national and the European levels. Amongst her priorities for the next years are ensuring that consumers and the environment are protected amid the EU’s revision of our essential water legislation, ranging from the Drinking Water Directive to the Urban Waste Water Treatment Directive, while maintaining service affordability.

The full result of the EurEau elections, as voted by their peers are:

  • Claudia Castell-Exner - Germany (BDEW and DVGW) – EurEau President
  • Tom Leahy – Ireland (CCMA) – Chair of the EurEau Committee on Drinking Water
  • Michaël Bentvelsen – The Netherlands (Unie van Watterschappen and Vewin) – co-Chair of the EurEau Committee on Waste Water
  • Sarah Gillman – United Kingdom (Water UK) – co-Chair of the EurEau Committee on Waste Water
  • Bruno Tisserand – France (FP2E) – Chair of the EurEau Committee on Economics and Legal Affairs.

The full Executive Committee will be composed of Alain Gillis (Belgaqua, Belgium), Osmo Seppälä (FIWA, Finland), Neil Kerr (WSA, Malta), Mircea Macri (ARA, Romania), Iztok Rozman (CCIS-CPU, Slovenia), Mariano Blanco Orozco (AEAS, Spain) and Stuart Colville (Water UK, United Kingdom).

All parties take up their new positions from 01 July 2019.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Topics of interest

The data provided will be treated by iAgua Conocimiento, SL for the purpose of sending emails with updated information and occasionally on products and / or services of interest. For this we need you to check the following box to grant your consent. Remember that at any time you can exercise your rights of access, rectification and elimination of this data. You can consult all the additional and detailed information about Data Protection.