Connecting Waterpeople

Frank Ury appointed to Santa Margarita District Board of Directors

  • Frank Ury appointed to Santa Margarita District Board of Directors
    Photo cutline: Santa Margarita Water District Board of Directors appoints Frank Ury (at center) on August 29, 2019. From left to right: Justin McCusker, Saundra Jacobs, Frank Ury, Betty Olson, Charles Gibson.

About the entity

Santa Margarita Water District
Santa Margarita Water District provides safe, reliable drinking water, recycled water and wastewater services to over 165,000 residents in eight unique communities.
Schneider Electric
· 11

The Board of Directors of the Santa Margarita Water District appointed Frank Ury to the Board of Directors on Thursday, August 29, 2019.

Mr. Ury’s appointment comes as a result of the resignation from the Board of Charley Wilson on August 1, 2019, after nearly two decades of service. Director Ury will fill the seat through the remainder of the term which ends in November 2020.

“We are pleased to have Mr. Ury join our board and look forward to his contributions,” said Saundra Jacobs, Board President. “Frank understands the value of water and the important role that SMWD plays in water supply reliability for south Orange County.”

When Lake Mission Viejo became the first swimming lake in California to use recycled water, Mr. Ury was the Mayor of Mission Viejo and a key leader of the project for the City’s part.  The national award-winning Lake Mission Viejo Advanced Water Treatment Facility project was the result of innovative thinking and public/private partnerships between the City, the District and the Association during a historic drought.

Mr. Ury is a professional electrical engineer specializing in technology management and business development. Mr. Ury was elected to the Mission Viejo City Council in November of 2004 and appointed Mayor by his colleagues in 2009, 2012 and 2015. He also served as Mayor Pro Tem in 2006 and in 2008.  Orange County’s City Selection Committee appointed Ury to the OCTA Board of Directors in January 2014 and 2015 as a city council representative.