Connecting Waterpeople

3rd cycle Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Water Award attracts participants from across the world

  • 3rd cycle Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Water Award attracts participants from across the world
  • Several first-time participants including Algeria & Kenya, in the latest cycle.

About the entity

UAE Water Aid Foundation (UAE Suqia)
Established in 2015, the UAE Water Aid Foundation (Suqia UAE), an entity under the umbrella of the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Initiatives foundation, is a non-profit organisation that provides humanitarian aid around the world.

As the deadline for registration in the 3rd cycle of the Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum Global Water Award draws closer by the end of this April, the UAE Water Aid Foundation ‘Suqia’ announced that several countries are taking part in the Award, totalling USD 1 million in prizes, for the first time. These include Algeria and Kenya; who will join the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Oman, Kuwait, Egypt, UK, India, Germany, Greece, France, Switzerland, Italy, Spain, Belgium and the Netherlands.

HE Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, Chairman of the Board of Trustees at Suqia UAE, was pleased to witness the growing global participation in the Award, launched by HH Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai. The global water award aims at providing drinking water to the underprivileged and disaster-stricken communities worldwide, regardless of their religion, ethnicity, culture or nationality. Al Tayer pointed out that expanding the Award’s scope to include new technologies that produce, distribute, store, monitor, desalinate, and purify water using renewable energy as well as adding the Innovative Crisis Solutions category, have encouraged more organisations and individuals to participate and contribute to finding sustainable and innovative solutions to address water scarcity.  

The total value of the Innovative Projects Award is USD 540,000 (USD 240,000 for small projects awards and USD 300,000 for large project award),  while the total value of the Innovative R&D Award is USD 400,000 (National Institutions Award: USD 200,000 – International Institutions Award: USD 200,000). In addition, the Innovative Individual Award gives away USD 40,000 (Youth Award winner: USD 20,000 – Distinguished Researcher Award: USD 20,000); while the Innovative Crisis Solutions Award winner will be awarded USD 20,000.  

All companies, research centres, R&D institutes, innovators and youth from all over the world, who have developed innovative technologies capable of addressing the challenge of water scarcity, are invited to register in the 3rd cycle of the Award before April 30, 2021. Applicants must register via the website.

Subscribe to our newsletter

Topics of interest

The data provided will be treated by iAgua Conocimiento, SL for the purpose of sending emails with updated information and occasionally on products and / or services of interest. For this we need you to check the following box to grant your consent. Remember that at any time you can exercise your rights of access, rectification and elimination of this data. You can consult all the additional and detailed information about Data Protection.